Working with your SMP

Find help and advice in your region to support your Community Sponsorship journey

Each of the nine English Regions and Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland has a Strategic Migration Partnership (SMP) which is equipped to provide the full range of services required with regard to migration issues in their Region.

SMPs in England, Wales and Scotland* coordinate a number of programmes including refugee resettlement under the Government resettlement schemes and the ESOL arrangements,  operation of the National Transfer Scheme for Unaccompanied Asylum Seeking Children and providing key engagements and support for the dispersal of asylum seekers.

Key to Reset's work is the connection through SMPs to the whole resettlement portfolio, they can provide a valuable resource for Community Sponsorship Groups to link in to.

More generally they act as a focal point allowing the sharing of expertise, advice and vital information between the Home Office and local government and a full range of public bodies and NGOs.

Each SMP is structured in a way to best meet the needs of the region or nation it is based within.  

Region Contact Name Email Address  Website  
East Midlands Brein Fisher Brein.Fisher@emcouncils.gov.uk https://www.emcouncils.gov.uk/East-Midlands-Strategic-Migration-Partnership
East of England Gosia Strona gosia.strona@eelga.gov.uk  http://smp.eelga.gov.uk/
London Ayham Alsuleman ayham.alsuleman@london.gov.uk https://www.london.gov.uk/what-we-do/communities/migrants-and-refugees/helping-resettlement-refugees
North East Janine Hartley janine_hartley@middlesbrough.gov.uk www.nesmp.org.uk
North West Colin Parker

colin.parker@manchester.gov.uk

http://northwestrsmp.org.uk/
Northern Ireland     www.executiveoffice-ni.gov.uk
Scotland Andy Morrison/Gayle Findlay

Andrew@cosla.gov.uk 

gayle@cosla.gov.uk

www.migrationscotland.org.uk
South East Roy Millard roymillard@secouncils.gov.uk www.secouncils.gov.uk/about-us/about-sespm
South West Bronwyn Prosser bronwyn.prosser@swcouncils.gov.uk www.swcouncils.gov.uk/nqcontent.cfm?a_id=3141
Wales  Anne Hubbard anne.hubbard@wlga.gov.uk www.wsmp.org.uk
West Midlands Dally Panesar

dally.panesar@wolverhampton.gov.uk

http://www.wmsmp.org.uk
Yorkshire & Humber Dave Brown Admin@migrationyorkshire.org.uk www.migrationyorkshire.org.uk

 

*For Northern Ireland, please contact Reset.

If you are partnering with another charity or organisation who are acting as your Lead Sponsor, it’s essential that you check with them whether they would like you to liaise with the SMP in a specific way. 

Last modified
Monday, July 26, 2021 - 16:21
Key things to do
  • Find out who your SMP is 
  • Ask for help, and tell them your plans
  • Use their advice and knowledge of your local area